Dealing with the curve ball – Getting things done in a human organisation

One of the real challenges that I knew would face me in the #28daysofwriting challenge was finding time to write when there were a million other things to do…and today is definitely one of those days.

Dealing with the Curve Balls
For me, one of the hallmarks of a good leader is how they deal with the curve balls…how they respond when all others are loosing their heads. Dealing curve balls are part and parcel of being an educator, and an educational leader. They can come from all quarters – a departmental edict, parent interaction, student comment or from a casual, unintentional comment from a child or a friend.

Today was one of those days. I spent the time last night planning out the day, assigning jobs to contexts trying to maximise my efficiency…GTD philosophy to the max! The problem with that is that I work in a school, and at there heart schools are people organisations.

My day was spent responding to various parent, student, teacher, organisational and systemic “crises”, none of which were planned. Each one of those interactions took me away from “urgent” and “important” tasks. But, by making time to hear, see and deal with each crisis in turn, I was investing in the relationships – living the adage that “people are the heart of our organisation”…I’d like to think that each person walked away feeling supported, valued and empowered to resolve the particular crisis they were involved in.

By the end of the day I was exhausted, but happy…the problem is that I’ve still got that list of really important jobs to do…only now it’s bigger. The way that I’d normally deal with that is to delete the “non-essential” tasks (usually anything that only impacted on me)… So today, I seriously considered not blogging. But because of the 28 days commitment, I resolved to tap this post out…and strangely enough I now feel energised and ready to tackle the rest of today’s list!!!

I’d be really interested in hearing your strategies for dealing with the curve balls and getting the “jobs done”.

IMG_1647

Leave a Reply

